Agnes Scott College Student Awarded Marshall Scholarship

Monday, December 3, 2018

Decatur, GA, December 3, 2018 – Agnes Scott College student Mallika Balakrishnan ’19 has been selected as a recipient of the 2019 mallika-balakrishnan-1.jpgMarshall Scholarship, the largest class in the history of the program. Mallika is among 48 undergraduate students across the United States to be selected for the program.

“My warmest congratulations to the new generation of Marshall Scholars, who make up the largest intake in the history of the Scholarship”, said Sir Kim Darroch, British Ambassador to the United States. “This class embodies the qualities that bind our two countries: a spirit of collaboration, an intellectual curiosity and a commitment to education and diversity. The British Government is proud to welcome these scholars to their studies in the UK. The Scholarship program has never been stronger and is a wonderful demonstration of the strength of our transatlantic bond.”

Winners were selected following a rigorous and high-competitive selection process that drew over 1,000 applications from top undergraduate students representing institutions across the United States. The program is principally funded by the British Government, but also benefits from generous support through partnership arrangements with world-leading British academic institutions, allowing winners to pursue graduate degrees in almost any academic subject at any university in the UK.

"We're thrilled that Mallika has been selected as a Marshall Scholar. Her selection in the program showcases the value of committing to global learning and the importance of leadership development. Mallika is truly exemplifying the spirit of SUMMIT by leading everywhere," said Agnes Scott President Leocadia I. Zak. 

The 2019 class will take up their studies at institutions across the UK beginning in September next year. Mallika plans to pursue a Master of Letters in Moral, Political, and Legal Philosophy at the University of St. Andrews in Scotland, and a Master of Arts in International Political Economy: Critical Theories, Issues, and Conflicts at the University of York. 


The Marshall Scholarship is named for Secretary of State George C. Marshall, the Marshall Scholarship Program began in 1953 as a gesture of gratitude to the people of the United States for the assistance that the UK received after World War II under the Marshall Plan. Since that time, it has remained uniquely positioned among national Scholarships for its prestige and scope: offering talented young Americans the chance to study any academic subject at UK universities of their choice for up to 3 years. This has given rise to an unprecedented breadth of expertise in almost every academic field, producing numerous university presidents, six Pulitzer Prize winners, one Nobel Laureate, fourteen MacArthur Fellows, two-academy-Award nominees, two Supreme Court Justices and a NASA Astronaut.

Agnes Scott College educates women to think deeply, live honorably and engage the intellectual and social challenges of their times. Students are drawn to Agnes Scott by its excellent academic reputation, exceptional faculty and metropolitan Atlanta location—offering myriad social, cultural and experiential learning opportunities. This highly selective liberal arts college is known for its diverse and dynamic intellectual community. Through SUMMIT, it provides every student, regardless of major, with an individualized course of study and co-curricular experiences that develop leadership abilities and understanding of complex global dynamics.